scroll down for more
Golf has been played at Droitwich since 1897 when the original nine hole course was laid down on Bays Meadow.
The legendary golf course designer James Braid was commissioned to redesign and extend the course and in November 1923 Lord Cobham laid the first sod of the eighteen hole course.
The Clubhouse facilities are situated in Westford House which was built in 1830 as a private residence. The building has had numerous uses, including being used as a Red Cross hospital in the Great War, until being taken over by the golf club in 1924.
The clubhouse has been sympathetically extended and improved over recent years and houses changing rooms and a spike bar on the ground floor. Upstairs provides the club Lounge bar and Restaurant with fine views over the eastern part of the course.
A notable local landmark, the Chateau Impney with its beautiful classic French style architecture was built by the clubs first Chairman John Corbett. Known as the Salt King, he built the Chateau as a present to his beautiful French wife in 1875.
He had the Corsican Pines planted on Green Hill, the highest point of the golf course, to improve the views from the Chateau.
From the top of Green Hill, on a fine day, the surrounding hills of Malvern, Clee, Clent and Lickeys can be seen.
Further information on the fascinating history of Droitwich Golf Club can be found in a book written by John Bromhead entitled Droitwich Golf Club 1897 – 1997.
The golf course has seen significant tree planting in recent years and provides a good test of golf for all abilities.
The club occupies well over 100 acres of beautiful Worcestershire countryside just north of the Spa town of Droitwich 1 mile from junction 5 of the M5 motorway.